## The ACA Sports Council's 2015 Annual Symposium and General Membership Meeting

The 2015 ACA Sports Council's annual symposium was held October 23<sup>rd</sup> and 24<sup>th</sup> at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Denver, CO. With close to 200 in attendance, it was a weekend filled with stimulating lectures, exciting vendors and amazing social events.

Over the course of the weekend, there were 16 hours of lectures and hands-on learning with a wide variety of topics including: treatment of the warrior athlete, sleep and performance, movement mapping and many more. Back by popular demand, there were also 4 hours of breakout sessions available for attendees with doctors and students able to learn in an intimate setting from amazing speakers.



Dr. Nicholas Studholme instructs a break-out session on ankle mobility. (Photo submitted by Dr. Carly May)

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) and luncheon was a time to celebrate the year's achievements and award the winners of the 6<sup>th</sup> Annual Tom Hyde Poster Presentations, with over \$5000 awarded to the winners and participants in the poster presentation contest. The first place prize of \$2000 went to Ben Jelinek from Northwestern University with his poster topic of *Reaction Time Field Test*. This year's competition also marked the 2<sup>nd</sup> Annual ACA Sports

Council Student Scholarship Fund; funds collected through this program are matched by the ACA Sports Council. In addition to individual donors, institutional donors contributed to this fund. We would like to thank Palmer College West, Performance Health and Southern California University of Health Sciences for contributing to the fund and supporting the future of sports chiropractic. Please watch for more information throughout the year regarding this program and ways you can contribute.



Dr. Russ Ebbets (left) and Dr. Ed. Feinberg (far right) pictured with poster contest winners: Alex Sundin, Judd Gines, Lindsay Pomeroy, Scott Colello, Ben Jelinek and Ryan Meyers.

Also during the AGM, new officers to the Executive Committee of the ACA Sports Council were announced. Dr. Kelly Lange was re-elected to her second one-year term as President of the ACASC. The Executive Committee was pleased to welcome Dr. Nicholas Hastad of Minnesota to the position of Treasurer as we bid farewell to Dr. Karlie Steiner-Bailey of Seattle, WA who finished her term. As always, the ACASC is grateful to the members of the Executive Committee for their service to the profession and the members.

A highlight of the luncheon and AGM was the Pinnacle Award presented to Tom "Bunky" Miller. The Pinnacle Award is given by the ACASC to a person who has given exemplary service to the ACASC from outside our profession. We were honored to have Bunky address our group as a keynote speaker, and hear the rich history he has with the Sports Council and his integral part in the inclusion of the ACASC and sports chiropractic into the Joint Commission of Sports Medicine & Science (JCSMS). Dr. Tom Hyde and Bunky worked together to get sports chiropractic to the table at JCSMS annual meetings. Although Tom could not be in attendance for the bestowment of this award, he surprised the recipient and the crowd with a congratulatory video!



Tom Miller receiving the ACASC's 2015 Pinnacle Award

Appreciation awards were given by the ACASC to members who have gone above and beyond in their service to the Council and the Executive Committee. This year the Student Appreciation Award was given to Kyle Buth from UWS for his work in constructing a well-received student program in Denver. Dr. Lange also presented an Appreciation Award to Dr. Carly May of Colorado for her help in bringing all the pieces together for a successful symposium.



Student Appreciation Award Winner Kyle Buth pictured with Student Executive Committee President, Andrew Strachan



ACASC President Dr. Kelly Lange presenting Dr. Carly May an Appreciation Award on behalf of the Council

Perhaps the climax of the AGM was the presentation of the annual Sports Chiropractor of the Year Award. This year's recipient has been a long-time supporter of the ACASC and his work in the fields of nutrition and sports chiropractic are unmatched – Dr. Robert Silverman. Dr.

Silverman serves as a chiropractor, nutritionist and sports performance consultant for professional teams (basketball, triathletes, football, track and field, MMA), Olympic athletes and hopefuls, high school teams, major colleges and acted as team doctor for the Amino Vital procycling team. He serves as a member of the medical team of New York City's Triathlons and Marathons, the Westchester Triathlon and multiple international Ironman events. With many publications and public appearances to his name, Dr. Silverman is a voice for our profession and we thank him for the support he has given the ACA Sports Council.



Dr. Kelly Lange presenting the Sports Chiropractor of the Year award to Dr. Robert Silverman



Past Sports Chiropractor of the Year recipients present at the Symposium: Dr. Ted Forcum, Dr. Ed Feinberg, Dr. Sherri LaShomb, Dr. Ira Shapiro, Dr. Josh Glass, Dr. Sheila Wilson and Dr. Bill Bonsal

The ACA Sports Council would like to thank all those that helped to make this symposium a success – from the many vendors to the exciting lecturers. Executive Committee Members are pleased to announce the 2016 symposium will be held October 7<sup>th</sup>-8<sup>th</sup> at the Hilton Riverside Hotel in New Orleans, LA. Save the date as we hope to see you there! Please visit our website <a href="https://www.acasc.org">www.acasc.org</a> for more information regarding this event.



The 2015 ACASC Executive Committee Members